A Bassa Voce(2010)

Claudia Valtinoni + Toni Moretti

The acoustic duo A BASSA VOCE, born on the first months of 2010, revises in acoustic key some of the most beautiful pieces of music from the last decades, taken from a repertoire which ranges from jazz to pop passing through some movies’ music classics like Moon River (Breakfast at Tiffany’s), Somewhere over the rainbow (The wonderful wizard of Oz), Life is beautiful that way (La vita è bella). The performance is solely entrusted to the voice and the 6-chords bass, sometimes supported by a loop station. L’esecuzione è affidata solamente alla voce e al basso a 6 corde, talvolta supportata dall’impiego di una loop station. A clear interpretation arises, capable to highlight the purity and the minimality of the proposed music pieces.

Preface to a Dream(2008)

Elisabeth Geel + Orchestra dell’Accademia Musicale

The staff accompanying the singer Elisabeth Geel consists of a jazz quintet and the Orchestra d’ Archi Academy . On the CD there are eleven songs , all of his own composition , which they see as arrangers the same Elisabeth , and other musicians : Bruno Cesselli , Hector Martin , Federico Malaman , Toni Moretti .

Amadeus Lives! (2007)

MozArt Ensemble

At first glance, classical music and jazz apparently appear to belong to two completely different worlds, almost opposite: the first – and western classical music in genre- improvisation is considered secondary to the faithful interpretation of the parties. totally distorted vision, however, the Afro-American music in which scores are put in the background to give a greater voice to the sensitivity and creativity dell’improvvisatore. However, over time this old concept has gradually smorzandosi, registering openings especially coming from jazz through the interpretations of Bach, Beethoven, Mozart. And in 2006, on the occasion of the 250th anniversary of the birth of the great Austrian musician, who was born the idea of ​​Mozart Ensemble with the intention of arranging in a jazz The Magic Flute, the last opera by the Austrian composer.

The formation originates from the fusion of a classic jazz quintet, the Toni Moretti Quintet, and a string quartet with the addition of a horn section. The version of this work in the sequence respects the original Mozart opera, although this nevertheless represents only the opening words to a more complex reading in which the appearance and structure of jazz often takes the upper hand. Already the initial overture with only Ettore Martin does well to understand what will be the underlying theme of the entire album, in which much space is left to the improvisation of the various soloists turn, enriched with absolute relief arrangements and moments where the prevailing ensemble music. Times when even the arcs they can find their perfect location providing a suggestive carpet in a dialogue as never managed between classical and improvised music until it touches almost free situations. Praise indeed to all for an amazing project definitely succeeded admirably that pays homage to The Magic Flute by Mozart from a new point of view demonstrating passion, research and taste of the various protagonists and an unexpected naturally in the continuous fusion of two worlds so apparently distant. Luca Labrini for Jazzitalia.

Have collaborated:

  • Sergio Gonzo, trumpet and flügelhorn
  • Marco Ronzani, tall sax, soprano sax, clarinet
  • Ettore Martin, sax way
  • Matteo Morassut, low trombone
  • Michele Zattera, guitar
  • Alfonso Santimone, piano
  • Toni Moretti, double bass
  • Franco Dal Monego, drums
  • Nicola Possente, I° violin
  • Nadia Dal Belin Peruffo, II° violin
  • Martina Pettenon, viola
  • Massimiliano Varusio, cello


  1. Ouvertüre
  2. Zu Hilfe! Zu Hilfe!
  3. Der Vogelfänger bin ich ja
  4. Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön
  5. O zittre nicht, mein lieber Sohn!
  6. Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen
  7. O Isis und Osiris
  8. Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen
  9. Hm Hm Hm
  10. Die Strahlen der Sonne vertreiben die Nacht!